The Board

Organisational Hierarchy

BBMB is headed by a Whole Time Chairman and two Whole Time Members i.e. Member (Irrigation) and Member (Power) who head the Irrigation and Power Wings of BBMB respectively. The Financial Adviser and CAO heads the Finance and Accounts Wing of the board.
Secretary and Special Secretary assist the Chairman and the Whole Time Members of BBMB in the normal working of the Board.
Next, in the organisational hierarchy of the Power and Irrigation wings come the Chief Engineers who head the respective offices followed by Superintending Engineers/Directors, Sr. Executive Engineers/Dy. Directors and Assistant Engineers.

Chairman Sh. A. B. Agrawal
Member (Power)
         (Whole Time)

Member (Irrigation)

         (Whole Time)

Sh. S.K. Sharma
Member, Govt. of India Smt. Jyoti Arora, IAS
Jt. Secy (R & R) Govt. of India,
Ministry of Power, New Delhi
Member, Govt. of India Sh. K.Vohra
Commissioner(Indus) Govt. of India.
Ministry of Water Resources, New Delhi
Member, Punjab Sh. K.S. Pannu, IAS
Principal Secretary,  Govt. of Punjab,
Irrigation Department, Chandigarh
Member, Haryana Sh K.K. Khandelwal, IAS
Addl. Chief Secretary, Govt. of Haryana, 
Irrigation Department, Chandigarh
Member, Rajasthan Sh. Ajitabh Sharma, IAS
Principal Secretary to Govt. of Rajasthan,
Water Resources Department, Jaipur
Member, Himachal Pradesh Sh. S.K.B.S. Negi, IAS
Principal Secretary(MPP&Power) to the Govt. of Himachal Pradesh

Member Irrigation

      Sh. A. B. Agrawal, Executive Director, NHPC Ltd., has joined as Chairman, Bhakra Beas Management Board on 19th March,2010. Sh. Agrawal is 'First Class First' Mechanical Engineering graduate and an MBA in Finance. He is a very versatile hydropower professional with multi-disciplinary experience of over 31 years in NHPC Ltd. , a most reputed Central Public Sector Organization of India in the field of hydropower development having capabilities from concept to commissioning of the projects and Operation & Maintenance of Power Stations. While heading the  2000MW Subansiri Lower H.E. Project, which is also the biggest hydro power project under construction in the country, he has helped to set new standards of hydropower construction through his dynamism, social networking and leadership capabilities .  As In-charge of O&M of 690 MW Salal Power Station of J&K, the biggest Power Station of NHPC  which is the most silt-plagued  plant in the country in operation, his innovative and cost–effective initiatives were instrumental in ensuring that it became the most economically operated Hydro Power Station in terms of O&M cost per MW         among all the Central Sector Power Stations in his time. His performance in the trouble-torn 105 MW Loktak Power Station (Manipur) and 390 MW Dulhasti Power Station (J&K), have also been truly remarkable. He is also having a vast pool of experience in all allied functions of hydropower development like Commercial, Contracts, Quality Assurance & Inspection,  Research & Development, Construction Equipment Planning. His last assignment included many challenges for him as he headed Human Resource Management, Corporate Communication, Medical Services, Rajbhasha  and Estate & Facility Management Services etc. During his tenure, due to well organized publicity campaign, the IPO of NHPC was oversubscribed by 24 times.

Member (Power)


::Back To Top::

Member (Irrigation)

Sh. S.K. Sharma

::Back To Top::

Member, Government of India

Smt. Jyoti Arora

::Back To Top::

Member, Govt. Of India
Member,Govt. Of India

 Shri K.Vohra did his Bachelor of Engineering(Civil) in 1985 from Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology, Patiala, Punjab. He joined Central Water Engineering Services on 1st May, 1987 through All India Engineering Services Exams of UPSC. Since then, he has worked in various areas related to water resources development and management, human resources management etc. which are briefly mentioned below:
1. The works related to Flood forecasting/Hydrological observation. He also participated in Chhota Shigri Glacier Expedition in Bhaga Valley, Himachal Pradesh during two consecutive years as official participant during 1988 and 1989.
2. Monitoring and Appraisal of multipurpose projects including projects under Accelerated Irrigation Benefit Programme.
3. The Works related to conflict resolution in water related disputes, basin management, implementation of various Awards of Tribunals and matters related to inter-basin transfer of water being handled by National Water Development Agency (NWDA).
4. Techno-managerial works and Human Resources Management of Central Water Commission(CWC) while he was posted as Secretary, CWC. He worked as Member Secretary of the Commission and Vigilance as well as Grievance Officer of CWC for about three years. He took various new initiatives such as implementation of Annual Performance Appraisal Report Management system, Bio data and Personal Information system of officers of CWC etc. during that period. 
Presently, he is working as Commissioner (Indus), Ministry of Water Resources, and is looking after the works related to Indus Waters Treaty 1960 between India and Pakistan including Permanent Indus Commission and inter-state aspects of water resources development amongst Punjab, Haryana, J&K, Himachal Pradesh and Rajasthan.

::Back To Top::

Member Punjab
Principal Secretary to Government of Punjab

   Sh. K. S. Pannu

::Back To Top::

Member Haryana

 Shri K.K. Khandelwal

::Back To Top::

Member Rajasthan

 Shri Ajitabh Sharma

::Back To Top::

Member, Himachal Pradesh

         Shri S.K.B.S. Negi, IAS (1985) in functioning as Principal Secretary (MPP&NES) since 28.12.2012 onwards.

        Mr. S.K.B.S. Negi is a 1985 Batch Indian Administrative Services Officer and is BA (Hons), LLB and MBA. He has more than 27 years of experience in Government and has served on various key State Government senior administrative positions in various Departments/Ministeries including Transport, Administration, Social Welfare, Cooperation, Revenue etc. He has handled a number of important assignments like Deputy Commissioner, Bilaspur, Deputy Commissioner, Kangra and Deputy Commissioner, Shimla.

       He has represented various Boards and Corporations as Government nominee. He worked as Director (Finance & Administration) for 2 years in Himachal State Power Distribution Company.

     He also remained as Principal Secretary, Rural Development and Panchayati Raj to the Government of Himachal Pradesh for 2 years before joining the present assignment.

::Back To Top::